The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 12, 2013

Illinois wins if Archer Daniels Midland, others remain in state

Archer Daniels Midland didn’t become one of the world’s largest companies by spending money recklessly.

So it should come as no surprise that the company is seeking the best deal possible as it looks to locate its new world headquarters and customer service center. The company announced two weeks ago that in creating a new world headquarters, 100 jobs would be moving out of the current headquarters in Decatur.

The reason for the move, which makes good business sense, is that ADM needs to be located in a city with an international airport and an area that offers more career opportunities for two-career families.

Chicago is one city that is apparently under consideration for the new headquarters and ADM Chief Financial Officer Ray Young told a House Revenue and Finance Committee last week that the company is seeking $20 million in state taxpayer assistance from the state.

Young was blunt about the company’s motives, saying ADM watches its money closely. “That’s the reason ADM has been successful,” he said. “ADM has been minding its pennies and nickels for years. From our perspective, we need to continue to be competitive in every aspect of our business.”

Lawmakers are questioning the need to supply tax incentives to a $24 billion company with a net income of between $1 billion and $2 billion annually. State Sen. Andy Manar, D-Bunker Hill, whose district includes Decatur, has said the General Assembly should not rush to approve a deal.

At the hearing, state Rep. David McSweeney, R-Barrington Hills, said the state is in no financial shape to give tax breaks to successful companies and House Majority Leader Barbara Flynn Currie, D-Chicago, suggested the practice of companies threatening to leave while also asking for tax incentives is “blackmail.”

Last week, Gov. Pat Quinn said he won’t sign any legislation approving tax credits for ADM or any other company until there’s a solution to the state’s $100 billion unfunded pension liability. Quinn urged ADM to spend its time lobbying lawmakers to arrive at a pension decision. The politics of pension reform and any tax incentive package will probably be worked out during the General Assembly’s October veto session.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook