The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 12, 2013

Shutdown halts some anti-fraud efforts

Many folks call me to report unwanted phone calls from telemarketers or scammers masquerading as legitimate telemarketers.

Other folks call me to report identity theft or other fraud. One of the methods we use to fight this kind of activity is to report it to federal authorities, who track these kinds of things. Two of the options available for reporting are the Do Not Call Registry and the Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer Sentinel.

Anyone can call or go online to make reports. Frequently, I make the complaint on behalf of citizens who call me with problems. With the Do Not Call Registry, you can register your phone number, preventing telemarketers from making calls to your number.

However, for the duration of this government shutdown, you can do nothing with either of these federal resources. Both are shut down to the public, and to law enforcement. One of the features of the Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer Sentinel is the ability for law enforcement to search nationwide complaints.

For instance, if someone calls me and tells me they got a call from a certain number, and the caller represented themselves as a debt collector, I can research that number to see if the number showed up in other complaints of fraud. That’s pretty useful information if you are trying to figure out whether a debt collection call is a scam, or for real. But until the government gets back in business, none of us can use this resource.

Slots still available

The AARP Safe Driving class, co-hosted by Seniors vs. Crime, is scheduled for 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Oct. 29 at the Clinton Community College Technology Center, 1951 Manufacturing Drive in Clinton. The class is about half full with registered students now.

If you want to attend, get yourself registered soon. To register, call (888) 336-3907 at Eastern Iowa Community College District, or call Clinton Community College at 244-7100. You need to register for Safe Driving Class, Course 128435 ($14 cost for non-AARP members), or if you are an AARP member, Course 128439 ($12 cost).

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook