The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 23, 2013

HERALD OPINION: City must move forward

It’s time to look forward.

That’s what the last three weeks have told us. In exclusive coverage from the Clinton Herald, Assistant Editor Katie Dahlstrom spent approximately 90 hours in a Scott County courtroom, detailing the story of how the city settled for $4.5 million with the federal government in 2010, and what led to that decision.

The city felt its attorney, Michael Walker, was negligent in his pursuit of a settlement.

The jury thought differently.

Now the citizens are stuck paying the remainder of $4.5 million settlement made three years ago and more than $750,000 in expenses to prove Walker breached the standard of care.

That’s more than $5 million for the mess created when whistleblower Timothy Schultheis filed a complaint under the federal False Claims Act accusing the city of Medicare and Medicaid fraud.

To hash over the details of why the city settled and whether the city knowingly committed fraud is a discussion we don’t feel necessary at this point.

Instead, the city must learn from its mistakes and move forward with a better governing strategy.

Part of that strategy would be to ask more questions.

Why did the city hire a person who had never heard of the federal statute the city was accused of violating? The city’s attorney, Mike Hannafan, drove home the point that Walker didn’t have the experience necessary to defend the city in a case such as this.

Why weren’t city officials and City Council members questioning Walker’s credentials when they trusted him to serve the city in its best interest?

And when unqualified attorneys suggested taking a $4.5 million settlement, a crippling number for a town decimated with decreasing population and high taxes, why weren’t more red flags raised about that price tag?

Citizens have questioned that amount for years. We believe that amount was far too high for the alleged crime committed.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook