The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 29, 2013

Vote for Graf

Vote for Graf

Four years ago I had the privilege of working closely with Ron Mallicoat, serving as chairwoman of his reelection campaign. Jennifer Graf won that election and I worried how all of us who cringe when we hear “raise taxes” would fare without Mallicoat’s booming voice of reason on Clinton’s City Council.

Property taxes and escalating sewer tax bills sent me scurrying to vote with my feet, that is to say, planning to leave Clinton behind and move somewhere with lower taxes. Anywhere but my beloved home for most of my life. Maybe a small town where people can afford to water their lawns and flowers.

Tuning in to council meetings became almost comical, a must-see for water cooler discussions the following morning. And a voice of reason emerged, albeit a soft and polite voice. It was Graf. Graf had questions — informed and intelligent questions. Graf understands and listens to her constituents. Graf has creative solutions to difficult financial problems. Graf attended an October 10 meeting regarding the landfill with a proposal to save Clinton residents $130,000 a year, just one tiny example of her solution-based thought process which was ignored by everyone else who we elected to work for us. She works as an untiring advocate for all of us and we literally cannot afford to lose her vote on the council.

Many people have asked me about “the red-headed Councilwoman” who called Mayor Vulich out on his multiple vetoes. Her name is Jennifer Graf. I hope you join me and vote for her.

Tammy Olsen,

Clinton

Reader: Allesee for Ward 1

I am writing this letter in support of Julie Allesee for the Clinton City Council, Ward 1.

Elections provide opportunities for citizens to choose which candidate to put to work for them. Julie Allesee knows hard work and will continue to do just that for the city of Clinton. She is eminently qualified to assume the responsibilities of such an important and complex office. She not only possesses strong academic credentials, but she has served the last two years and has a proven track record for addressing the hard decisions and will continue to work on balancing the budget and building city reserves.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook