The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 1, 2013

READER LETTER: Reader will cast vote for Sokoloich

Reader will castvote for Sokoloich

 

I’ve gotten to know Andy Sokolovich over the last 18 months. We’ve had good discussions about our businesses as well as the future of Clinton.

What impresses me most about Andy are his fresh ideas for making Clinton a better place to live, work and raise a family. He brings a unique perspective to the table:

• He has a fresh energy and ideas for promoting Clinton’s assets

• He is a small business owner and understands managing finances

• He has 11 years of military experience as an Air Force air traffic controller

• He understands cooperation and open dialog to move Clinton forward

I’ve been impressed with Andy’s desire to get to the root of what has turned around other cities that have been in similar situations as Clinton. He sought out leaders in those communities that were in charge when things began to turn around. He’s found that the main ingredient in every case was cooperation between the council, mayor, city economic development groups and the private sector.

Andy’s time in the military as an air traffic controller as well as running the operations of an Air Force base gave him the experience he’ll need to understand the complexities of what our city is facing. The budget needs to be balanced and services need to be performed, just like they were when he was in the Air Force and like they do in his business.

Andy Sokolovich isn’t locked into an agenda. He is committed to the best ideas and working in cooperation with others to move Clinton forward. We need people like Andy on the city council. I’m voting for Andy Sokolovich for one of the Clinton City Council at-large seats and I hope you will consider it too.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook