The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 18, 2013

Reader: Make positive changes for all

I feel the need to answer Leslie Mussmann’s letter to the editor that was published in the July 4 Clinton Herald since I am the person who wrote the letter to the editor that she mentioned.

I never accused her group of being some big government lobby group that rammed legislation down anyone’s throat. The City Council is taking that role by passing the ban on smoking. I get the feeling she thinks this is a personal attack on Jennifer Gerdes and the Breathe Easy Coalition. I wonder if she and the City Council realize banning smoking in one more place is a personal attack on a minority group, smokers.

The June 7 article in the Herald states the Breathe Easy Coalition conducted a surveys on this and other possible bans they would like to see happen. I ask, does your survey meet the Code of Professional Ethics and Practices as prescribed by the American Association for Public Opinion Research? The paper stated 75 percent of the people polled had children. Looking at the census for Clinton — it shows 35 percent of the households do not have children. Your pool of people surveyed is a little lopsided. Of that 75 percent how many were smokers? Were your results independently verified?

Mussmann mentioned getting the facts straight. Here are some for her. There have been outdoor smoking bans enacted by local municipalities that have been overturned by state Supreme Courts in Kentucky (Herchley v. Barbourville) and in our neighboring state of Illinois, ruling number 9136. Those rulings have stood for years not ever being reversed by a higher court. Even present-day North Carolina is passing a bill reversing outdoor bans enacted by municipalities. New York state had to lift its ban at parks, beaches and other areas due to legal challenges. Our City Council should look into this before they have to spend taxpayer dollars to defend this ban. Our tax money needs to go for higher-priority issues. Maybe we can ask the Breathe Easy Coalition to pay the legal bills since they are so proud they raised the money for signage.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook