The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 18, 2013

Reader: Make positive changes for all

I feel the need to answer Leslie Mussmann’s letter to the editor that was published in the July 4 Clinton Herald since I am the person who wrote the letter to the editor that she mentioned.

I never accused her group of being some big government lobby group that rammed legislation down anyone’s throat. The City Council is taking that role by passing the ban on smoking. I get the feeling she thinks this is a personal attack on Jennifer Gerdes and the Breathe Easy Coalition. I wonder if she and the City Council realize banning smoking in one more place is a personal attack on a minority group, smokers.

The June 7 article in the Herald states the Breathe Easy Coalition conducted a surveys on this and other possible bans they would like to see happen. I ask, does your survey meet the Code of Professional Ethics and Practices as prescribed by the American Association for Public Opinion Research? The paper stated 75 percent of the people polled had children. Looking at the census for Clinton — it shows 35 percent of the households do not have children. Your pool of people surveyed is a little lopsided. Of that 75 percent how many were smokers? Were your results independently verified?

Mussmann mentioned getting the facts straight. Here are some for her. There have been outdoor smoking bans enacted by local municipalities that have been overturned by state Supreme Courts in Kentucky (Herchley v. Barbourville) and in our neighboring state of Illinois, ruling number 9136. Those rulings have stood for years not ever being reversed by a higher court. Even present-day North Carolina is passing a bill reversing outdoor bans enacted by municipalities. New York state had to lift its ban at parks, beaches and other areas due to legal challenges. Our City Council should look into this before they have to spend taxpayer dollars to defend this ban. Our tax money needs to go for higher-priority issues. Maybe we can ask the Breathe Easy Coalition to pay the legal bills since they are so proud they raised the money for signage.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook