The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 26, 2013

A return to RAGBRAI

OSKALOOSA — Hi mom, I’m in Oskaloosa. This is Rod Schultz (Camanche High School, Class of 1986). Yes, I’m on Register’s Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa again for my 10th full year, with my first trip back in 1983. It is hard to believe how much this ride has changed in 30 years, yet so much has stayed the same. Scott Morgan and Jeff Moore could agree with me when we say “back in the day...”

Ted Schultz (no relation) is taking the night off and allowing me time to write this. By now I’m sure he is taking a nap under a shade tree in his tent. Recharge, Ted, recharge.

I’m riding with Team Beloit, new from Beloit College, a private liberal arts college, in Beloit Wis., where I now work in development and alumni relations. The five faculty and staff I brought along on this wonderful adventure across Iowa are all new to the hills of this slice of the country. Let’s just call it scenic for good measure. And why not? Our week has been spectacular and the roads fantastic! Wearing our Beloit College cycling jerseys, many of us have been able to flush out alumni, parents and friends of the college so that we can connect, share good stories and thank them for their support. Mark Wold, Kim Zarling, Phil Shields, Christina Eddington, Breeze Jacobson and I are that team.

I found a great laptop to work from in Fellowship Bible Church after learning about this place from a nice young girl handing out freezer pops just up the road.

However, lets start from the beginning. Our Thursday morning had us waking up in Knoxville on the lush grass of a softball field next to the Speedway. Rolling out of town we had cool breezes and blue skies all the way to Lake Red Rock, across the dam, and into the scenic town of Pella. It was here that we had some tasty Dutch letters, tried on some wooden shoes, and posed on a bicycle built for 21 (3 rows of 7). Since our day was 52 miles with 2,800 feet of climb, cyclists have been enjoying the towns along the way, boosting the economy, and eating great food without any caloric guilt.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook