The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 9, 2013

Flurry of activity at statehouse

Last week, we passed some major bills in the Senate, including SF429, which provides $25 million in new funding to Iowa’s community colleges, including Scott and Clinton community colleges.

The Eastern Iowa Community College District is such an important asset to our district as it provides opportunities for our residents to improve their skills and build a better life for their families.

I believe this bill represents a wise investment in the future for Iowans and the Iowa economy. While critics worried about the bill’s expense, I believe it is in our best interest to provide a means for people to improve their skills and their prospects for employment to help reduce the number of welfare recipients.

We also need to provide our businesses with the kinds of skilled employees that community college programs can deliver to keep moving our economy forward. This bill now goes to the House.

Another important bill that passed on the Senate floor was SF430, which was an outgrowth of the budget subcommittee work that I helped with in economic development. This bill includes economic development initiatives at the University of Iowa, Iowa State University and the University of Northern Iowa.

The universities work with businesses throughout the state on technology commercialization, marketing, entrepreneurship and technical assistance.

Their efforts help attract businesses to Iowa and help existing businesses expand.

Along with other economic initiatives — like the Main Street Iowa Program — this is a bill that does just what we need to do right now in Iowa.

It puts Iowans to work at good jobs, helps businesses create jobs and adds to Iowa’s economy.

One part of this bill is particularly important to Clinton. Last year, the Clinton workforce office was closed. This bill would reopen the Clinton office to help connect unemployed and underemployed workers with businesses looking to hire. I have talked to many frustrated job seekers from our area who will be better served if this office is able to open its doors again.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook