The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 6, 2012

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Community reaps benefits from parade, RAGBRAI

Readers congratulate organizers, participants

CLINTON — I want to echo the sentiments of State Rep. Mary Wolfe and Clinton Visitors Bureau Director Marsha Smith with respect to RAGBRAI.

Clinton as a community was at our best. Everyone worked together to make sure RAGBRAI participants had a warm welcome and were safely guided into Clinton. It was a privilege to welcome bicyclists at the dip spot and take their pictures. It was nice to hear all their positive comments about Clinton and the state of Iowa.

 I felt fortunate to meet two men from Bangladesh who are bicycling across the United States to raise awareness about global warming.  One gentleman was an engineer who had presented on plastic trash in the ocean for NOAA and the other was a correspondent for the United Nations General Assembly.

I was glad I could direct them to the local Travel Lodge and happy to hear they are being well received across the U.S.

RAGBRAI was truly a transformative experience for our community.

Linda Boardsen,

Clinton



Another great event for city

Now that the 4th is in the past, I’d like to thank the sisters Emily and Erin for a great 4th of July, one that just kept getting better.

From the wonderful parade on they enabled a community to come together and maybe start something new. At the LumberKings game a big crowd ignored the heat and saw a big win by the team followed by one of the best fireworks displays ever.

As I watched, listening to the awesome patriotic music, cold beer in hand, I thought, what a perfect ending to the birthday of the greatest country on earth.

Thanks again, Emily and Erin, and all who had a hand in this celebration.

Chuck Burg,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook