The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

June 21, 2014

LEVINE: Crossing another hurdle

I’m a little late in writing — a week and one day to be exact — but I had good reason to be missing last week.

I took a break, celebrating my dad’s 60th birthday and partaking in an annual excursion to Adventureland near Des Moines.

This is actually my son’s second trip to the amusement park in Altoona, since we lugged him around last year when he was only about a month old. He still was able to do about as much as he did last year (ride the Ferris wheel and the Chuck Wagon, a small ride that mirrors a Ferris wheel), but he seemed to have a good time. He usually just smiles and laughs at everything his sister does, so he was more than excited to watch her embark on a whole new world.

My daughter first entered the theme-park universe as a 2-year-old. We were pleasantly surprised at all the options available to her at the ripe age of 2, so we have continued to return. Thankfully she gets her height from my wife, so as a 4-year-old, she found out first-hand the thrills of the park’s biggest attractions — roller coasters.

I’m not sure who was more nervous — her or me — but after we stood by the height-measuring tool, cementing her as at least 42 inches tall, it was time to enter the adult world.

I’m not too keen on high places and speeding objects. I made a concession two years ago to ride the tea cups. That was quite the nerve-racking decision. Roller coasters, on the other hand, are an entirely different beast. My daughter was almost too excited to contain, so we marched up the steps, stood in line and proceeded to get measured by the ride operator.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook