The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

June 27, 2014

Tackling another milestone

To say it went fast would be an understatement.

That exact line opened a column I penned in April 2011, celebrating the first year of my daughter’s life. Three years later, I find myself in a similar, albeit much different situation, as my family on Saturday will mark my son’s first birthday.

I’ll spare you all the precise details, but we made it. When I wrote about my daughter turning 1, I reminisced about the past year and how much caring for a person 24 hours a day, seven days a week, was such a monumental task.

I won’t bore you with those same sentiments, since I’m very accustomed to having zero free time. That has been four years in the making now, so my son hasn’t had to compete against my last attempts at having a social life. His only competition is making sure Mom and Dad have enough spare time to pay full attention to his new developments.

And unfortunately that’s life for a second child.

We’re always geniuses as parents before actually becoming a parent.

I was baffled at all the discrepancies my parents provided me as a younger child. My older brothers didn’t have to go through the torture of having recycled clothes. My brothers didn’t have the same strict set of rules. And my brothers never heard “you can’t do this because we learned our lesson with your older brothers.”

How could my parents treat me so bad?

Then my daughter was born four years ago. And then my son was born a year ago.

Now I understand.

The house isn’t as baby-proofed, there aren’t as many pictures and my son doesn’t have our undivided attention at all times of the day.

And that’s life as a second child (I was a third child, so just imagine what my life was like). It doesn’t sound as glamorous, but you could never tell with our son.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook