The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 5, 2014

Acts of kindness are free, easy

It’s easy to get overwhelmed and discouraged by the news each day. From natural disasters, to disease, to poverty, to violence, it causes distress and worry. What could we possibly do to make a difference?

Our contributions are so small, and these issues are so big.

But we need to do something. So let’s make it easy — let’s be kind — kind to each other, kind to ourselves and kind to our earth. If we stopped for one moment and thought about one thing we could do for another person, a loved one or maybe even more importantly — a perfect stranger — what kind of world would we create? Would it make a difference in that person’s life?

We may never know, but we would operate on faith.

Acts of kindness can be free and easy. They can also be nondenominational and nonpartisan. Here are just a few ideas:

n Clean out all your old clothes and donate them to someone in need.

n Donate blood — one pint can save up to three lives.

n Volunteer. Get outside of yourself and help others.

n Write a positive review about a local business you like.

n Let someone cut in front of you at the grocery store.

n Join us for this month’s Social Justice film series selection, “Pay It Forward,” at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, July 17, at The Canticle, 841 13th Ave. North.

For more ideas, visit www.ClintonFranciscans.com.

Laura Anderson, Lori Freudenberg and Sr. Nancy Miller,

The Center for Active Nonviolence and Peacemaking

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Holly Youngquist Friends of the Library book sale is underway

    Friends of the Library Book Sale is open now. The sale is open to all until 8 p.m. today and on Friday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Finally, Saturday, Aug. 2, is box day. From 9 a.m. to  3 p.m., books will sell at $3 per box.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Cremation service helped pet owner in her time of need

    I wanted to share some positive news about a business located in Clinton that I’m guessing most residents aren’t aware even exists. It’s Northridge Pet Cremation on Main Avenue and for me they were recently a godsend.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A Cappella choir concert was a success

    The CHS A Cappella reunion was great. It was real great to hear so many good voices of so many former choir members.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Time to boost social security

    It's time for Congress to act so that Social Security benefits can finally start to keep pace with the cost of living.

    July 31, 2014

  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook