The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 11, 2014

City must find a way to fund sewer work

Breaking news this week — EPA mandates are forcing the city of Clinton to evaluate how to fund future sewer improvements.

OK, maybe this topic is reviewed each year, but if you checked out Facebook on Tuesday in anticipation of the Clinton City Council meeting, an observer may have gleaned that the EPA handed down these mandates this week. That, of course, isn’t even close to the truth, and I can’t blame the city for not making this issue more prevalent.

They’ve harped about the impending doom of these EPA mandates for as long as I’ve been a Clinton resident (which is six years and counting), and from what I have heard and read from the past, the writing has been on the wall for longer than just my tenure as a citizen.

So, we’ve been down this road, and as was already discussed one year ago at a work session, the council this week looked at the viability of a stormwater utility.

The council this week struck down an attempt at initiating a stormwater utility. Many of the people who ran for office in 2013 campaigned for no new taxes, so it was unlikely this would have passed anyway.

This decision leaves us where we started at the beginning of the year — what do we do with the sewers?

To think the council will vote for increased fees is a long shot. I know city officials’ job is to make the city solvent, but citizens have become much more vocal in rallying against increased taxes. I’ve written many times before about our not-so-dubious honor of having the highest sewer rates in the state, and to ask citizens to shoulder the burden of more taxes, is too much to ask at this point.

Just take a look at the recent election in November, when more than 60 percent of citizens voted against two measures that would have increased taxes to assist in paying for future sewer work.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Posturing, predictions fly as SEC turns to a new season

    Little news is truly made at the Southeastern Conference's media days, where players and coaches predict, insinuate and deflect in advance of this fall's college football season.
     

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Our unwillingness to defend ourselves The U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Statistics reports that 2012 losses because of personal identity theft totaled $24.7 billion. The money losses from identity theft pale in comparison with the costs of paperwork, time and inconvenience

    July 17, 2014

  • Alan Dixon 'Al the Pal' will be missed What did former U.S. Sen. Alan J. Dixon, who died Sunday at the age of 86, do for you?For starters, open your purse or wallet and take a good look at your driver’s license.Before Dixon was Illinois secretary of state from 1977 to 1981, licenses consi

    July 17, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook