The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 24, 2012

LEVINE: Vice president nominee has local ties to area

CLINTON — We still have a few months before the November election, but it seems that we’ll be inundated with nasty rhetoric and misleading political commercials until Election Day finally arrives.

Out of all the mudslinging, one interesting story did materialize when Mitt Romney picked Paul Ryan to be his running mate.

Ryan’s career in Congress started in 1998, but it wasn’t until 2000, when a connection to Clinton surfaced. Ryan married Janna Little 12 years ago, and although Janna likely hasn’t stepped foot in Clinton, her mother did, and her family left quite a footprint.

Janna’s mother, Prudence (Petersen) Little, grew up in Clinton and she graduated from Clinton High School with honors. Prudence went off to Wellesley College near Boston (just like Janna) where she met her husband Dan.

They moved to Oklahoma and Prudence eventually graduated from law school in 1968 as first in class, and practiced law for many years. She even wrote the legal opinion that became a part of the movie, “Believe in Me.”

Unfortunately Prudence wasn’t able to see her daughter’s family achieve the honor of being nominated for vice president. She died in 2010, but her impact didn’t stop there.

According to The Associated Press, Ryan has above-average wealth, thanks in large part to Prudence. Ryan earns an annual salary of $174,000, but most of his money comes from investments in natural resources and a trust fund set up following Prudence’s death, according to The Associated Press.

House ethics reports show the trust, worth between $1 million and $5 million, boosted the couples’ wealth in recent years, which had previously been around $2 million, according to The Associated Press.

The trust helped increase his average reported net worth in 2000 from about $350,000 to more than $1 million.

But being active in the community didn’t start with Prudence. Her parents Adelaide and Dr. Vernon Petersen were active members in Clinton, with Vernon establishing a practice in Clinton and Adelaide being honored as the Woman of Action in 1987 by the YWCA in Clinton.

Although Clinton may not see a lot from the presidential candidates this year, the city can look back and know they had a part, albeit minor, in the 2012 election.

Scott Levine is the Associate Editor of the Clinton Herald. He can be reached at scottlevine@clintonherald.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook