The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 24, 2012

LEVINE: Vice president nominee has local ties to area

CLINTON — We still have a few months before the November election, but it seems that we’ll be inundated with nasty rhetoric and misleading political commercials until Election Day finally arrives.

Out of all the mudslinging, one interesting story did materialize when Mitt Romney picked Paul Ryan to be his running mate.

Ryan’s career in Congress started in 1998, but it wasn’t until 2000, when a connection to Clinton surfaced. Ryan married Janna Little 12 years ago, and although Janna likely hasn’t stepped foot in Clinton, her mother did, and her family left quite a footprint.

Janna’s mother, Prudence (Petersen) Little, grew up in Clinton and she graduated from Clinton High School with honors. Prudence went off to Wellesley College near Boston (just like Janna) where she met her husband Dan.

They moved to Oklahoma and Prudence eventually graduated from law school in 1968 as first in class, and practiced law for many years. She even wrote the legal opinion that became a part of the movie, “Believe in Me.”

Unfortunately Prudence wasn’t able to see her daughter’s family achieve the honor of being nominated for vice president. She died in 2010, but her impact didn’t stop there.

According to The Associated Press, Ryan has above-average wealth, thanks in large part to Prudence. Ryan earns an annual salary of $174,000, but most of his money comes from investments in natural resources and a trust fund set up following Prudence’s death, according to The Associated Press.

House ethics reports show the trust, worth between $1 million and $5 million, boosted the couples’ wealth in recent years, which had previously been around $2 million, according to The Associated Press.

The trust helped increase his average reported net worth in 2000 from about $350,000 to more than $1 million.

But being active in the community didn’t start with Prudence. Her parents Adelaide and Dr. Vernon Petersen were active members in Clinton, with Vernon establishing a practice in Clinton and Adelaide being honored as the Woman of Action in 1987 by the YWCA in Clinton.

Although Clinton may not see a lot from the presidential candidates this year, the city can look back and know they had a part, albeit minor, in the 2012 election.

Scott Levine is the Associate Editor of the Clinton Herald. He can be reached at scottlevine@clintonherald.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook