The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 23, 2013

Riders battle hills on road to Perry

PERRY — While Sunday’s opening day of RAGBRAI was a breeze, riders found Monday to be a different story.

Not only was the 83-mile route from Harlan to Perry the longest of the 2013 Register’s Annual Bicycle Ride Across Iowa, but also the hilliest.

All told, riders climbed (and climbed) 4,239 feet on the trip.

Though I knew it would be a long day, I didn’t get on the road as early Monday as the previous day. The 15-mile ride to Kimballton included plenty of areas of low-lying fog, which was quite cool (cool as in a bit cold, but I suppose also just pretty cool) when riding through it.

Then it was 10 miles to Hamlin, where the hills picked up, and then another 21 miles to Guthrie Center (hometown of my friend and the Clinton Herald’s own, Sherri Enwright). Guthrie Center’s park was filled with vendors, games, you name it, which entertained all of us tired riders. That town can be proud of its accomplishment as a pass-through community.

After a nine-mile trip to and then through beautiful Steamboat State Park, we got nailed with what I’m guessing will be the toughest hill on the route this year.

I’d been warned some time earlier by another rider who knew the area, and he wasn’t kidding. Mockingbird Hill, as the locals called it, was a steep half-mile long stretch. Some riders didn’t even attempt it, getting off their bikes and pushing them up the entire way (that would be tiring, I’d suspect).

Another great percentage of riders got off their bikes part way up to push.

Proud to say I rode the entire thing, and actually, I don’t think it was quite as tough as the nasty hill we had out of Lehigh last year. But don’t get me wrong … I wouldn’t want to bike Mockingbird Hill on a regular basis by any stretch.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook