The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 25, 2013

It was a perfect day for RAGBRAI

KNOXVILLE — As one rider described to me, if there was ever a perfect day of RAGBRAI, Wednesday was it.

The 49.9-mile route of the Register’s Annual Bicycle Ride Across Iowa from Des Moines to Knoxville had a few hills, but nothing bad, plus mild temperatures.

First, let me back up. Des Moines was a fun overnight community Tuesday. I went down to the vendors that afternoon and Drake University proved to be the winner, giving out free tote bags, T-shirts and socks to anybody who stopped by the booth (me, being a cheapskate, loved that).

I attended a Grinnell College dinner later in downtown Des Moines and then walked a short distance to Principal Park, where the Iowa Cubs were playing New Orleans. It was a perfect night for a ball game.

I intended to leave Wednesday morning at 6 a.m., but my trip was delayed for the same reason as many others. The cleats on our biking shoes were full of mud (from camping at a muddy Waterworks Park) and we couldn’t clip in, so it was a common sight to see bikers pulled over, using sticks or whatever to clean the bottoms of their shoes.

Once that mission was accomplished, it was 8 miles to the Iowa State Fairgrounds. It was kind of eerie going through there when it was relatively quiet. I’m used to that place being packed during fair time.

We faced several significant hills exiting Des Moines for the 9-mile trek to Alelphi, and from there it was just 5 miles to Runnells where we were greeted by the Southeast Polk High School pep band.

After a short stop there, it was 14 miles to Monroe. Halfway through that trip, there was a roadside sign stating there was a clean pond on this particular farm property, and that swimming AND skinny dipping were available.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook