The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 19, 2013

Don't let Clinton be a secret

Gary Herrity’s article touched on a great subject today.

Partaking in the wonderful parks in this area is something my family often does. The ability to walk around outdoors in a great setting is something that many take advantage of in this town. And that’s just one of the many activities to do in Clinton.

Herrity’s column reminded me of a discussion our Editorial Board had recently about the city’s best-kept secrets. But a lot of the events or places mentioned in those secrets are in the open, for everyone to see.

Take for instance a recent story the Herald published about the Symphony of Lights. Anyone who has lived here for more than a year can tell you about this annual holiday-time attraction.

However, the board appears to be struggling for membership and volunteers, putting that annual event in the crosshairs in another few years if more volunteers don’t step up to assist.

The same could have been said about Riverboat Days a few years ago, until Erin George and Emily Steenhard stepped into the picture to save the Fourth of July festivities. They changed the festival, but kept a tradition of Fourth of July events alive.

Even with a 1-week-old son, we traveled to the riverfront again this year for the second installment of the new Fourth of July tradition and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of people and activities available. That truly is a special event and will need continued support from its residents.

So, those events aren’t so secret, but if they don’t have support, with volunteers and donors, they may be a thing of the past.

And that’s the major issue. Support is vital to making many of these events and places thrive.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook