The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 23, 2013

Fake checks -- worthless paper but looks real

A young Clinton woman recently lost more than $1,800 in a fake check scam. The woman wanted to work, and saw a job posted on an Internet site.

The firm posting the job offer portrayed themselves as a research service located in St. Louis. The firm hired our Clinton applicant as an “undercover customer service evaluator,” and promised her $350 for each store she rated. Another term for this is “mystery shopper.” The firm instructed her to deposit at her bank a check they sent to her, withdraw the deposit in cash, and take it to a Western Union agent.

She received further instructions to wire transfer the money at the Western Union agent to a representative of the research company in Mexico.

The woman did as instructed. When the check arrived, she deposited it and withdrew the cash. She went to a Western Union agent and wire transferred almost $1,500 as instructed. She filled out the “rating/evaluation” form provided by the research service, and sent it on. And one week later, her bank notified her the check she deposited came back as counterfeit. She is liable for the loss, and must re-pay the bank.

There are several lessons to draw from this crime:

n Internet mystery shopper job offers are almost always scams — Wire transfer services such as Western Union and Moneygram are widely used by crooks to steal money in frauds. Remember what I’ve written before — don’t touch the wire.

n If you deposit a check, you are not 100 percent positive about, wait until it clears the bank before withdrawing funds against that check — Fake checks show up in a wide variety of scams. I’ve told people I am working on wallpapering one wall of my office with fake or counterfeit checks folks turn in.

I am making good progress on that project. It is extremely easy to counterfeit a check. You need a color printer, a check writing software program (they are inexpensive) and check stock, which is available at office supply outlets. Anyone can buy blank check stock. It is not a controlled commodity.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook