The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 13, 2013

Sad shutdown stories distract from debt crisis

Yes, the nation’s debt ceiling has to be raised.

Whether or not that action includes some kind of compromise on spending or delay of any Obamacare provisions that President Obama doesn’t want to delay (he delays others unilaterally, without even consulting Congress), the bottom line is that it has to be raised.

On that much, the president deserves some kind of validation, if only for stating the obvious.

And while Republicans are correct to push for controls on spending and for a delay in the individual mandate for Obamacare (since the president granted a year’s delay for employers), they ought to be smart enough to know that using a government shutdown or a vote on the debt ceiling as leverage is not a winning political strategy.

Republicans ought to know that the mainstream media will ignore the long-term catastrophic implications of unrestrained growth in the debt, since that would take doing some homework on the projections of the Congressional Budget Office. They ought to know the media will focus only on short-term sob stories from the growing ranks of helpless dependents, cruelly abandoned by a temporary halt in government support.

We have heard, and will keep hearing, that Republicans want children to die! Republicans don’t want poor families to be able to put food on the table! They don’t want new wonder drugs to be developed to save sick people! They don’t want children to have good schools! They want elderly people to freeze! Etc.

But, while Obama enjoys having his media lapdogs do his heavy lifting against his opponents, it would be nice if he could drop the sanctimonious tone about how he’s taking the high moral ground on the debt ceiling – that simply raising it means the nation is doing the fiscally responsible thing.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook