The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 5, 2013

Art Under the Stars a great event

Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community. This month, YWCA committee member Sara Misiewicz shares information on an upcoming event.

For the last several years, the second Saturday in July has been reserved on my calendar for an event that has proven to be a wonderful night out for my husband and me along with a group of our friends. I look forward to it each summer.

This signature event is the YWCA’s Art Under The Stars, held on Saturday, July 13, at The Tuscany Events Center. Mike Rastrelli and his staff make sure that the creation, preparation and presentation of the food is a work of art in itself. Attendees will experience an elegantly decorated room, exquisitely prepared carved meats, cheeses, seafood, pasta and other delectable bite- sized appetizers along with a variety of mouth-watering desserts. Glazers of Iowa and Wide River Winery will be in attendance with a selection of wines for tasting. Throughout the night, Dan Peart will provide musical entertainment, silent auction tables will be available for bidding and Sarah Bengston and Steve Luett will host a live auction.

The auction itself is a lively segment with donated items such as a private dinner prepared especially for you and a group of friends, a night out at the ballpark or a French designer purse. There is truly something for everyone. If that hasn’t piqued your interest, imagine tables lining the entire banquet room holding amazing pieces of art of all varieties — paintings, metal sculptures, wood pieces, jewelry, photography and pottery, made by more than 30 local artists and donated to the YWCA.

To enjoy an evening with so much to offer is plenty in itself, but this evening does much more. Proceeds enable the YWCA to help members of our community in various ways. Domestic violence, sexual assault and mental health funding cuts have clearly affected our nation. Clinton is not exempt. The YWCA provides a safe haven to victims fleeing a violent relationship, advocacy to women and children who are homeless and positive programs for our youths.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook