The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 15, 2013

Student thanks CCC as he earns education, heals from injury

My name is Cory Reuter, and I will be graduating in the spring of 2013 with my Associates Degree in Science from Clinton Community College.

After finishing my degree, I plan to attend the University of Iowa to extend my education in the field of Mechanical Engineering. I am a non-traditional student, and have many people to thank for this accomplishment.

My family, friends and the faculty and staff of Clinton Community College have been a big support and asset to me. I came back to college while battling a major injury to my spinal column that had me incapacitated for over two years. I was determined to get back on my feet and become independent once again.

When my injury first occurred, I was told by many doctors that it was not likely that I would make a full recovery. I was told that my pain and lack of mobility were not likely to improve and I could be disabled by these limitations. This was not acceptable to me. I see too many people give up in this world and I did not want to become that type of person.

I decided to work on my physical abilities while I was going to school to work on my education. The pain was beyond excruciating and I was not even sure I could recover. As time went on, I was able to move a little more every day. My recovery, due to the increase in therapy, started to become exponential and now I am physically better than I could have ever imagined.

With the persistence and help of others, I was able to strengthen my body and mind more than I ever imagined possible. The staff and faculty of Clinton Community College have helped me the entire way.

Their welcoming attitudes made me feel comfortable from the beginning. Their knowledge in the classroom helped me readjust to my new status of being a student. Their patience and understanding of all of the processes from financial aid, to filling out transfer applications to the University of Iowa and filling out scholarship applications helped me get my full tuition paid at the University of Iowa.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook