The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 15, 2013

Senate passes bills that benefit Eastern Iowa

One of the major bills passed out of the Senate last week relates to historic preservation and cultural and entertainment district tax credits.

Since its creation, this tax credit program has consistently proven itself as a catalyst for economic and community development.

Senate File 436 will provide a much-needed funding increase and practical changes to help the program continue its successful track record of revitalizing Iowa main streets and neighborhoods. It is a well-crafted bill that will produce immediate results. The funding increase will substantially reduce the current backlog that exists, funding all projects previously not funded and permitting many new applications to be funded this July.

Scott J. VanDeWoestyne of the Quad-Cities Chamber says the historic tax credits bill has made possible every significant project in downtown Davenport and will fund several ongoing and future projects.

The city of Clinton is using this tax credit with the Wilson Building Project. SF436 will produce a “hard-dollar impact,” according to Nathan Sondgeroth of the Clinton Area Chamber, and promises to spur additional investment for downtown Clinton.

The Senate also passed SF435, the Agriculture and Natural Resources Budget. Included in this bill is funding for soil conservation and the nutrient reduction water quality initiative, as well as an increase for park operations and maintenance along with forest health.

I have received many e-mails encouraging full funding of the Resource Enhancement and Protection fund (REAP). SF435 funds REAP at $20 million. This is the first time REAP will have been fully funded in the history of the program.

An agricultural bill that I ran on the floor this week passed unanimously and is on its way to the Governor’s desk. HF457 directs the Department of Natural Resources to give beginning farmers preference in leasing habitat management land from DNR. Members of the House Agriculture Committee suggested this bill, which is designed to help beginning farmers get started in agriculture.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook