The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 20, 2013

Cooperation is needed to clean up environment

The first Earth Day, April 22, 1970, was observed in the wake of the burning Cuyahoga River in Cleveland, Ohio.

A flaming river and other disasters, such as an oil spill near Santa Barbara, Calif., woke the nation up.

It all inspired bipartisan cooperation in Washington in passing the Clean Air Act of that same year, an effort led by the Democratic Senator Edmund Muskie of Maine and signed into law by the Republican President Nixon on the last day of 1970.

There was more environmental cooperation. The Environmental Protection Agency also was established in 1970, and the Clean Water Act followed two years later. These efforts did initiate an important cleanup.

However, now, Earth Day of 2013, we see other dangerous environmental problems but virtually no bipartisanship in government. As a member of the committee that wrote the 2012 platform for the Clinton County Democrats, I would hope that our environmental proposals would inspire joint action by the political parties to solve today’s problems. We have supported renewable energy, protection of wetlands, control of odor and solids pollution, control of greenhouse emissions, improved inspections of food processing and other items that address important problems.

We see such proposals as necessary for a healthy environment that will be sustainable and safe for people now and in the future. Let’s hope that we can all discuss them in a businesslike manner and move them forward for the common good.

Thomas C. Gibbons,

Clinton

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook