The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 16, 2013

More information on child development

There have been many books written and programs developed to assist us in how to manage children’s behavior. Two examples include 1-2-3 Magic and Love and Logic. Structure, consistency and follow through are three qualities that the above-mentioned programs have in common.

This article will provide a brief overview and rationale for both effective and ineffective methods used to change children’s behavior. Much of this information is from the work of Alan E. Kazdin, director of the Yale Parenting Center and Child Conduct Clinic.

Effective methods to promote behavior change

The most powerful method we can use to promote prosocial behavior is modeling. For example, if we want children to express their feelings calmly, it is imperative that we express our own feelings calmly. As parents we must regularly pause and reflect on our own behavior, and make appropriate changes as needed.

In addition, as parents we need to state our expectations using a positive statement. For example, rather than say “don’t hit your brother”, or something general such as “behave,” it is more beneficial for us to give the direction “keep your hands to yourself,” or “thank you for sitting quietly.”

Human behavior is motivated by incentives. In order to increase a desired behavior we need to reinforce the behavior consistently and immediately. We also want to give children ample opportunity to practice the desired behavior. We want to reward positive behavior in graduated steps (otherwise known as shaping).

For example, if the goal is to get a child to do one hour of homework per night, we need to reinforce the behavior in smaller time increments (e.g. every 15 minutes, then 30 minutes, then 45 minutes) until the child is able to do one hour of homework.

Next, we need to develop a reinforcement menu. Kazdin has recommended that we have at least six choices of positive reinforcement on the menu. The reinforcers should not be expensive, and certainly can be activity based (e.g. 15 minutes of game time with Mom or Dad).

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook