The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 21, 2013

Are Smartphones ruining kid's posture?

Smartphone apps, texting and video games. What do they have in common? Our kid’s posture. If you’ve ever watched kids while they are on their smartphone, you would see the classic posture: head down, neck craned forward, and shoulders rolled in forward. This kind of posture is very common but also not healthy and will eventually create potential complications within the body. As chiropractors, we have recognized these facts and have seen an increase of neck and back symptoms within the younger generation. A recent study published in the Journal of School Health found that 38.3 percent of children had poor posture. An even more interesting number was that 7-year-olds with poor posture was at 33 percent while 11 year olds were found to be at 41 percent. The most common complaints were headaches, neck pain, and low back pain.

This posture epidemic may have started back when schools eliminated lockers. Kids were left having to haul around backpacks with numerous academic books inside that weighed up to 50 pounds.

This strain would then force kids to pull their head and shoulders forward to handle the load. Video games is also an area of posture concern when considering our children. Hand-held video games take kids with forward head and shoulder posture. This love of the game would keep kids in this posture long after their heavy school books were tossed aside for the day and dinner was ready.

The next big posture epidemic is texting. The average teenager sends 60 texts per day. That adds up to 1,800 text messages per month! A study found that while texting, a child’s head sits 4 1/2 inches in front of neutral. Neutral position is where the ear is lined up with the shoulders. This kind of posture will then cause a disturbance within the neck and upper back. Besides texting, Facebook and homework on the computer are also causing neck disfunction. It seems that kids are only out of this posture when they are lying on their backs in bed.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook