The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 21, 2013

Are Smartphones ruining kid's posture?

Smartphone apps, texting and video games. What do they have in common? Our kid’s posture. If you’ve ever watched kids while they are on their smartphone, you would see the classic posture: head down, neck craned forward, and shoulders rolled in forward. This kind of posture is very common but also not healthy and will eventually create potential complications within the body. As chiropractors, we have recognized these facts and have seen an increase of neck and back symptoms within the younger generation. A recent study published in the Journal of School Health found that 38.3 percent of children had poor posture. An even more interesting number was that 7-year-olds with poor posture was at 33 percent while 11 year olds were found to be at 41 percent. The most common complaints were headaches, neck pain, and low back pain.

This posture epidemic may have started back when schools eliminated lockers. Kids were left having to haul around backpacks with numerous academic books inside that weighed up to 50 pounds.

This strain would then force kids to pull their head and shoulders forward to handle the load. Video games is also an area of posture concern when considering our children. Hand-held video games take kids with forward head and shoulder posture. This love of the game would keep kids in this posture long after their heavy school books were tossed aside for the day and dinner was ready.

The next big posture epidemic is texting. The average teenager sends 60 texts per day. That adds up to 1,800 text messages per month! A study found that while texting, a child’s head sits 4 1/2 inches in front of neutral. Neutral position is where the ear is lined up with the shoulders. This kind of posture will then cause a disturbance within the neck and upper back. Besides texting, Facebook and homework on the computer are also causing neck disfunction. It seems that kids are only out of this posture when they are lying on their backs in bed.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook