The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 3, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Remember to vote at school board election

How can you be sure that the education in your local public schools meets your expectations? A good place to start is by electing effective school board members and I am encouraging you to be a part of that process by getting out and vote on Sept. 10.

Many in our community voice opinions that changes need to be made and this district moves a different direction than it is currently. This can only be done if elected board members collaborate and work as a team, clearly understanding the needs of students and teachers and all strive to make our schools a positive environment to learn. A school board has a heavy influence on the spirit that characterizes a community’s impression of its school system. An effective board knows and respects its community and encourages the community’s trust in its school system. The school board sets the vision and goals for the district and should hold administration accountable for those results students and teachers deserve. Board members should have a keen eye toward serving the needs of all students and an understanding that the board sets the climate for the entire district.

Before voting, please take time to educate yourself on each candidate and their visions for the district. Where do they want our district to be a year or so from now? Are they open-minded, willing to listen to concerns and issues brought before them by the public, regardless of what their opinions are? This election is very important and we need strong board members to take this district where it needs to be. Please get out on Tuesday, Sept. 10 and vote to make a difference for students, as well as teachers. They deserve it!

Rhonda Daniels,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook