The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 3, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Remember to vote at school board election

How can you be sure that the education in your local public schools meets your expectations? A good place to start is by electing effective school board members and I am encouraging you to be a part of that process by getting out and vote on Sept. 10.

Many in our community voice opinions that changes need to be made and this district moves a different direction than it is currently. This can only be done if elected board members collaborate and work as a team, clearly understanding the needs of students and teachers and all strive to make our schools a positive environment to learn. A school board has a heavy influence on the spirit that characterizes a community’s impression of its school system. An effective board knows and respects its community and encourages the community’s trust in its school system. The school board sets the vision and goals for the district and should hold administration accountable for those results students and teachers deserve. Board members should have a keen eye toward serving the needs of all students and an understanding that the board sets the climate for the entire district.

Before voting, please take time to educate yourself on each candidate and their visions for the district. Where do they want our district to be a year or so from now? Are they open-minded, willing to listen to concerns and issues brought before them by the public, regardless of what their opinions are? This election is very important and we need strong board members to take this district where it needs to be. Please get out on Tuesday, Sept. 10 and vote to make a difference for students, as well as teachers. They deserve it!

Rhonda Daniels,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook