The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 3, 2013

HART: The start of a new school year

The summer has gone very quickly, and my own children as well as all the students in the district are back at school once again. I wish them, their teachers and their administrators the very best as they embark on another year of education and all of its challenges.

It’s so important to start the school year off right, and I know that students are nervous, and teachers and administrators are challenged to do all they can to be successful. I will be communicating with the local school districts to make sure that changes to be enacted as a result of the newly passed education reform bill will help students and school systems achieve even better results. We must all work for school improvement together.

This year’s Legislature did our part by investing $1.5 million to provide high school students with career orientation, job shadowing and internship opportunities that allow them to make informed college and career decisions.

Our local community is also helping students become successful. One example of working together on school success is a teacher externship program where teachers go to work in local businesses during the summer to better understand the skills that their students need to be qualified for jobs that local employers are trying to fill. These teacher externships are a great example of how rigor and relevancy can be incorporated into the classroom because of good school-community partnerships.

I was pleased to visit with two instructors who did just that when they participated in the LINC (Learn, Innovate, Network, Cultivate) program at Archer Daniels Midland in Clinton this summer. Dave Wallace, a mechatronics instructor at Clinton Community College, Lynn Daniels, a welding instructor at DeWitt Central, and Joel Frost, an agricultural science teacher at Northeast School, gained valuable insights that will be evidenced in their classrooms this fall. Efforts like these will result in more focused instruction and skilled workers for our local businesses.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook