The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 29, 2012

READERS' LETTERS: City should go to trial and avoid settlement

CLINTON — Here we go again. A lawsuit settled out of court with the taxpayers of Clinton left shelling out money for no reason.

The personnel named in the lawsuit say they did nothing wrong. So why settle? If you are innocent, then prove it at a trial.

But I suppose it is easier for you to agree to a settlement which left all individuals off the hook but left we the taxpayers holding the bag. That doesn't seem like they are making the best interests of the city a priority over their personal interests.

And, Mr. Mayor, that breath of fresh air I spoke of several weeks ago has seemed to pick up a definite odor of rotten eggs. I assure you that the opinions expressed by this newspaper concerning the recent Monday morning meeting are seen favorably by a majority of voters in Clinton.

Now, members of the council, stop trying to stick it to the decent people of this city who pay their bills by making us pay for those who don’t pay their bills. Write an ordinance, seek good, I repeat good, competent help so the results will be unpaying people will have to do their share. And the minimum water billing increase certainly does not encourage being a conscientious conservative user. Go ahead and bill monthly but make the minimum for 100, not 300.

What about our local state representatives? Since I have seen no response from anyone concerning the law that has caused the sewer billing fiasco I can only assume they are on the side of the landlord lobby, or they just don't care. Either way, citizens of Clinton, they do not deserve our support and should be voted out this next election.

Every incumbent, regardless of party, needs to be defeated. It seems to be the only alternative we have left at our disposal.

Arnold Meyermann,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook