The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 29, 2012

READERS' LETTERS: City should go to trial and avoid settlement

CLINTON — Here we go again. A lawsuit settled out of court with the taxpayers of Clinton left shelling out money for no reason.

The personnel named in the lawsuit say they did nothing wrong. So why settle? If you are innocent, then prove it at a trial.

But I suppose it is easier for you to agree to a settlement which left all individuals off the hook but left we the taxpayers holding the bag. That doesn't seem like they are making the best interests of the city a priority over their personal interests.

And, Mr. Mayor, that breath of fresh air I spoke of several weeks ago has seemed to pick up a definite odor of rotten eggs. I assure you that the opinions expressed by this newspaper concerning the recent Monday morning meeting are seen favorably by a majority of voters in Clinton.

Now, members of the council, stop trying to stick it to the decent people of this city who pay their bills by making us pay for those who don’t pay their bills. Write an ordinance, seek good, I repeat good, competent help so the results will be unpaying people will have to do their share. And the minimum water billing increase certainly does not encourage being a conscientious conservative user. Go ahead and bill monthly but make the minimum for 100, not 300.

What about our local state representatives? Since I have seen no response from anyone concerning the law that has caused the sewer billing fiasco I can only assume they are on the side of the landlord lobby, or they just don't care. Either way, citizens of Clinton, they do not deserve our support and should be voted out this next election.

Every incumbent, regardless of party, needs to be defeated. It seems to be the only alternative we have left at our disposal.

Arnold Meyermann,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook