The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 29, 2012

READERS' LETTERS: City should go to trial and avoid settlement

CLINTON — Here we go again. A lawsuit settled out of court with the taxpayers of Clinton left shelling out money for no reason.

The personnel named in the lawsuit say they did nothing wrong. So why settle? If you are innocent, then prove it at a trial.

But I suppose it is easier for you to agree to a settlement which left all individuals off the hook but left we the taxpayers holding the bag. That doesn't seem like they are making the best interests of the city a priority over their personal interests.

And, Mr. Mayor, that breath of fresh air I spoke of several weeks ago has seemed to pick up a definite odor of rotten eggs. I assure you that the opinions expressed by this newspaper concerning the recent Monday morning meeting are seen favorably by a majority of voters in Clinton.

Now, members of the council, stop trying to stick it to the decent people of this city who pay their bills by making us pay for those who don’t pay their bills. Write an ordinance, seek good, I repeat good, competent help so the results will be unpaying people will have to do their share. And the minimum water billing increase certainly does not encourage being a conscientious conservative user. Go ahead and bill monthly but make the minimum for 100, not 300.

What about our local state representatives? Since I have seen no response from anyone concerning the law that has caused the sewer billing fiasco I can only assume they are on the side of the landlord lobby, or they just don't care. Either way, citizens of Clinton, they do not deserve our support and should be voted out this next election.

Every incumbent, regardless of party, needs to be defeated. It seems to be the only alternative we have left at our disposal.

Arnold Meyermann,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook