The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Opinion

September 29, 2012

READERS' LETTERS: City should go to trial and avoid settlement

CLINTON — Here we go again. A lawsuit settled out of court with the taxpayers of Clinton left shelling out money for no reason.

The personnel named in the lawsuit say they did nothing wrong. So why settle? If you are innocent, then prove it at a trial.

But I suppose it is easier for you to agree to a settlement which left all individuals off the hook but left we the taxpayers holding the bag. That doesn't seem like they are making the best interests of the city a priority over their personal interests.

And, Mr. Mayor, that breath of fresh air I spoke of several weeks ago has seemed to pick up a definite odor of rotten eggs. I assure you that the opinions expressed by this newspaper concerning the recent Monday morning meeting are seen favorably by a majority of voters in Clinton.

Now, members of the council, stop trying to stick it to the decent people of this city who pay their bills by making us pay for those who don’t pay their bills. Write an ordinance, seek good, I repeat good, competent help so the results will be unpaying people will have to do their share. And the minimum water billing increase certainly does not encourage being a conscientious conservative user. Go ahead and bill monthly but make the minimum for 100, not 300.

What about our local state representatives? Since I have seen no response from anyone concerning the law that has caused the sewer billing fiasco I can only assume they are on the side of the landlord lobby, or they just don't care. Either way, citizens of Clinton, they do not deserve our support and should be voted out this next election.

Every incumbent, regardless of party, needs to be defeated. It seems to be the only alternative we have left at our disposal.

Arnold Meyermann,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook