The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 27, 2013

HERALD'S OPINION: Flood project is shining example of foresight

It was born in the swirling blizzards of an abnormal severe winter across the northern plains; it was nurtured by a combination of climatic conditions which forced an early runoff of melting snow before the ground was sufficiently thawed to absorb moisture; it savagely matured at the mouths of the swollen Minnesota, St. Croix and Wisconsin rivers.

And before the Great Missisippi River Flood of 1965 died — its fury spent in the vast expanse of the Gulf of Mexico — it had left an awesome trail of heartbreak, suffering and property damage.”

It’s been almost 50 years since those words were written by former Clinton Herald Editor Everett Streit as he chronicled the Great Flood of 1965 in a booklet detailing the disaster that took Clinton to its knees that year.

In fact, it was 48 years ago today that Clintonians and residents across the river in Fulton, Ill., were bracing for those floodwaters. On April 27, 1965, the Mississippi River stage was recorded as 24.7 feet and it was believed that would be the crest.

But that actually didn’t happen until one day later, when the peak hit and officially was recorded as 24.85 feet.

The day that crest was reached, at least 850 Clinton homes were surrounded by water and 36 businesses and 16 industrial plants were out of operation. More than 50 square blocks of the Clinton north-end area were inundated and about 1,000 residents had been driven from their homes. In the south end of the city, more than 25 blocks were flooded.

In the end, estimates put the damage at $5.5 million.

It all led the Clinton City Council to make a formal request for institution of a flood control project. It could make a good case as the city had experienced other costly floods in 1951, 1952 and 1967. A temporary levee built in 1969 under the title “Operation Foresight” saved the city from extensive damage in 1969 and 1973.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook