The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

April 27, 2013

HERALD'S OPINION: Flood project is shining example of foresight

It was born in the swirling blizzards of an abnormal severe winter across the northern plains; it was nurtured by a combination of climatic conditions which forced an early runoff of melting snow before the ground was sufficiently thawed to absorb moisture; it savagely matured at the mouths of the swollen Minnesota, St. Croix and Wisconsin rivers.

And before the Great Missisippi River Flood of 1965 died — its fury spent in the vast expanse of the Gulf of Mexico — it had left an awesome trail of heartbreak, suffering and property damage.”

It’s been almost 50 years since those words were written by former Clinton Herald Editor Everett Streit as he chronicled the Great Flood of 1965 in a booklet detailing the disaster that took Clinton to its knees that year.

In fact, it was 48 years ago today that Clintonians and residents across the river in Fulton, Ill., were bracing for those floodwaters. On April 27, 1965, the Mississippi River stage was recorded as 24.7 feet and it was believed that would be the crest.

But that actually didn’t happen until one day later, when the peak hit and officially was recorded as 24.85 feet.

The day that crest was reached, at least 850 Clinton homes were surrounded by water and 36 businesses and 16 industrial plants were out of operation. More than 50 square blocks of the Clinton north-end area were inundated and about 1,000 residents had been driven from their homes. In the south end of the city, more than 25 blocks were flooded.

In the end, estimates put the damage at $5.5 million.

It all led the Clinton City Council to make a formal request for institution of a flood control project. It could make a good case as the city had experienced other costly floods in 1951, 1952 and 1967. A temporary levee built in 1969 under the title “Operation Foresight” saved the city from extensive damage in 1969 and 1973.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook