The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

May 1, 2013

A new chapter begins

Life is an amazing journey. On April 13, in front of family and friends, I said ‘I do’ to my best friend, Mike Gabriel. After years of searching for “the one,” I found him when I least expected it thanks to a very persistent matchmaker.

I met Mike’s nephew, Brandon Bentley, by chance one Friday afternoon when my neighbor and his aunt, Sandy Gabriel, brought him and his sister, Abby, to visit my new batch of baby chicks. From that day on, the kids and I formed a chicken connection and friendship. Brandon and his sisters, Abby, Jasmine and JayCee, began venturing down to my house on a regular basis and the rest, you could say, is history.

Our first date was set up thanks to Brandon. He called me up to see if I was free on a Saturday night to go out on a date with his uncle chaperoned by none other than himself. I had been set up on dates before but none, obviously, turned out as well as this one did. I guess kids do have a sixth sense about things. My life, thanks to Brandon, will never be the same. I can never thank him enough for the lifetime of happiness that lies ahead for both of us.

I planned our wedding in just three months. At first it seemed like no big deal, but in the end, it became perfectly clear that planning a wedding is a lot of work. Throughout my wedding journey, I had a lot of help from my friend, Elise, and her fiancé, Nick, along with co-worker Kathy Huizenga. Mike’s aunt, Sandy, who also happened to be my friend long before we started dating, did an amazing job. I definitely could not have pulled this off without her.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook