The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

May 9, 2013

Mayor gives reasons for not signing Humane Society agreement

The agreement that was approved by the Clinton City Council at the April 23 meeting between the city of Clinton and the Clinton Humane Society went into effect Tuesday without the signature of the mayor.

With any action the City Council takes the mayor always has three options: 1: Sign the document. 2: Not sign the document and whatever the action was becomes effective 14 days later. 3: Veto the action. I have elected to not sign the agreement between the city of Clinton and the Clinton Humane Society. Earlier this year, I vetoed a proposed one-year contract with the Clinton Humane Society that called for an annual subsidy of $120,000 plus daily boarding fees. The city has been paying about $5,000 per year in boarding fees. At that time the city had recevied another proposal that would have satisifed our state required animal control requirements for $40,000 per year plus daily boarding fees.

The council did not override my veto but also did not accept the lower $40,000 proposal. Instead the council decided to create an RFP (Request for Proposal) and start the process over. As a result of this process the City Council approved a three-year contract with the Clinton Humane Society for $105,000 annual subsidy and no daily boarding fees.

You may ask was the mayor’s veto worthwhile? My answer is yes.

Had I not vetoed the original proposed contract, the taxpayers of Clinton would be paying $120,000 plus daily boarding fees and only have a one-year contract with the Clinton Humane Society. As a result of my veto the taxpayers are now going to be paying a $105,000 per year annual subsidy with no daily boarding fees and the contract is for three years. When you add together the $15,000 reduced annual subsidy and approximate $5,000 in boarding fees, the taxpayers will be paying out over $20,000 less per year as a result of the Mayor’s veto.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook