The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 2, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Hire a veteran

I had a job and obligation to welcome home an Honor Flight at the Quad City Airport for our veterans.

The greatest time was when one of the old veterans came by me and I said to him, “Welcome home young man.” Tears came to his eyes and he said to me that he had not heard that until 70 years ago when he came back home from the World War II campaign. He thanked me and from that day on it changed my life.

When I went to Vegas and stayed in the old downtown I noticed a man in a wheelchair with his legs missing from the knees down and with a veteran sign on the side of his chair. Also a metal cup in his lap and speaking no words due to restrictions on panhandling. I took time with him and talked about his time in Vietnam. Being homeless and with no job, he had to resort to this humiliating task of sitting there. I noticed all the people walking by to avoid him and too busy to get to the next gambling machine. I left him with $100 in 20s to which he was very grateful. He was not a phony as I seen that in his eyes.

Then I realized how many of these veterans are out there. I met an old Marine veteran at our Eagles Club who was a prisoner of war of the Korean War. Being caught behind the enemy lines by the Chinese entry of that war. In their camp he was tortured and that was where his legs were not the same anymore. I befriended him and helped him to find a single floor apartment — a short walk to the Eagles Club to a table to drink two beers. He was quiet but would talk when spoken to with his back to the front door of the club. I surprised him by having a young Marine who was home on leave and in his best blue uniform come to the back of this old Marine and yelling at the seargent to full attention. Words cannot describe the emotions that was shown between these two Marines. They talked a very long time and the young Marine brought a Marine flag for him. Priceless moment in time.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook