The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 2, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Hire a veteran

I had a job and obligation to welcome home an Honor Flight at the Quad City Airport for our veterans.

The greatest time was when one of the old veterans came by me and I said to him, “Welcome home young man.” Tears came to his eyes and he said to me that he had not heard that until 70 years ago when he came back home from the World War II campaign. He thanked me and from that day on it changed my life.

When I went to Vegas and stayed in the old downtown I noticed a man in a wheelchair with his legs missing from the knees down and with a veteran sign on the side of his chair. Also a metal cup in his lap and speaking no words due to restrictions on panhandling. I took time with him and talked about his time in Vietnam. Being homeless and with no job, he had to resort to this humiliating task of sitting there. I noticed all the people walking by to avoid him and too busy to get to the next gambling machine. I left him with $100 in 20s to which he was very grateful. He was not a phony as I seen that in his eyes.

Then I realized how many of these veterans are out there. I met an old Marine veteran at our Eagles Club who was a prisoner of war of the Korean War. Being caught behind the enemy lines by the Chinese entry of that war. In their camp he was tortured and that was where his legs were not the same anymore. I befriended him and helped him to find a single floor apartment — a short walk to the Eagles Club to a table to drink two beers. He was quiet but would talk when spoken to with his back to the front door of the club. I surprised him by having a young Marine who was home on leave and in his best blue uniform come to the back of this old Marine and yelling at the seargent to full attention. Words cannot describe the emotions that was shown between these two Marines. They talked a very long time and the young Marine brought a Marine flag for him. Priceless moment in time.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook