The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 4, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Vote no on military move

I urge you to contact Senators Grassley and Harkin and Representative Loebsack to ask them to vote no to any U.S. military action against Syria.

As a life-long Democrat and firm supporter of President Obama, I have to part company with him on this issue. While I accept that a terrible crime against civilians has been committed, and that it is probably the doing of the Syrian government, I disagree strongly that we can “punish” the Assad administration by lobbing a few – or a few hundred – missiles into Syria and by that accomplish anything of benefit to the Syrian people, to U.S. interests, or to the world in general.

You know all the reasons this issue is impossibly difficult: a proxy war with Iran and the Shiite government we established in Iraq on one side, Saudi Arabia and the other Sunni nations on the other, but not too close to us lest their citizens see them as our puppets; an awful humanitarian crisis as millions of Syrian citizens try to get out of the way of the fighting; the cost to us of these endless wars for no good reason; the danger of all the unintended consequences; and the fact that a civil war thousands of miles away is not our responsibility.

I am not an isolationist; I firmly believe in diplomacy and mediation and political solutions to political problems. The United States should be cooperating with the United Nations in doing everything possible to bring sanity and common sense to these issues. I reject the contention that diplomacy won’t work; it has not been seriously attempted. More violence will just make everything worse.

Pierrette Wolfe,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook