The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 4, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Vote no on military move

I urge you to contact Senators Grassley and Harkin and Representative Loebsack to ask them to vote no to any U.S. military action against Syria.

As a life-long Democrat and firm supporter of President Obama, I have to part company with him on this issue. While I accept that a terrible crime against civilians has been committed, and that it is probably the doing of the Syrian government, I disagree strongly that we can “punish” the Assad administration by lobbing a few – or a few hundred – missiles into Syria and by that accomplish anything of benefit to the Syrian people, to U.S. interests, or to the world in general.

You know all the reasons this issue is impossibly difficult: a proxy war with Iran and the Shiite government we established in Iraq on one side, Saudi Arabia and the other Sunni nations on the other, but not too close to us lest their citizens see them as our puppets; an awful humanitarian crisis as millions of Syrian citizens try to get out of the way of the fighting; the cost to us of these endless wars for no good reason; the danger of all the unintended consequences; and the fact that a civil war thousands of miles away is not our responsibility.

I am not an isolationist; I firmly believe in diplomacy and mediation and political solutions to political problems. The United States should be cooperating with the United Nations in doing everything possible to bring sanity and common sense to these issues. I reject the contention that diplomacy won’t work; it has not been seriously attempted. More violence will just make everything worse.

Pierrette Wolfe,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Scott Levine mug LEVINE: Hope is back at Roosevelt building

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Holly Youngquist Friends of the Library book sale is underway

    Friends of the Library Book Sale is open now. The sale is open to all until 8 p.m. today and on Friday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Finally, Saturday, Aug. 2, is box day. From 9 a.m. to  3 p.m., books will sell at $3 per box.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Cremation service helped pet owner in her time of need

    I wanted to share some positive news about a business located in Clinton that I’m guessing most residents aren’t aware even exists. It’s Northridge Pet Cremation on Main Avenue and for me they were recently a godsend.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A Cappella choir concert was a success

    The CHS A Cappella reunion was great. It was real great to hear so many good voices of so many former choir members.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Time to boost social security

    It's time for Congress to act so that Social Security benefits can finally start to keep pace with the cost of living.

    July 31, 2014

  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook