The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 7, 2013

Reader's Letter: Accountability should be in the city's vision

I had to laugh to myself (Sept. 3) when I read the article about our city’s future. Apparently our city has now come up with a “vision” of our city.

The article stated, “The purpose of developing a vision, mission statement and values is to provide a framework to guide decisions made on the part of the city’s elected officials and staff.”

One of the proposed “vision” statements? “The city of Clinton takes pride in providing a great number of services to our citizens in an accessible, accountable, and responsive manner.”

I guess they want us to forget about who was accountable for the mistake of not knowing how to bill for garbage “tips.” What services does the city provide that we citizens don’t pay for? Even if we don’t use the service?

The “mission” statements were all about the city of Clinton providing strong leadership. I would guess that the majority of Clintons citizens would like to see our council thrown out on their ears.

The final paragraph says, “The proposed values include teamwork, honesty, transparency, service-orientation, consensus and cooperation, integrity, commitment and loyalty, ethic, resilience and perserverence, diversity, enviromental stewardship and safety.”

Honesty? Transparency? Who wants to be honest and transparent about the medicare billing fiasco? Anyone? We couldn’t even get the council to hold an “open door session” about that.

Ethics? How about you go talk to the Bices who are having their own property near Eagle Point Park taken away from them. The city had a chance to buy it, but didn’t want it.

Why do you think you need it now? Preserverence? Yep. I’ll give you that. You just keep pushing until you get what you want.

With elections coming up, I sure hope that the citizens of Clinton do their homework before going to the polls. It is time that the word, “accountable,” is explained to our city council.

Becky Graves,

Clinton

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook