The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 2, 2012

BIELEMA: Get out those shoes and head out for a walk Wednesday

CLINTON — Get out your walking shoes and be ready to lace them up.

Wednesday marks the one-kilometer Healthiest State Walk, and we’re encouraging Clinton residents to get involved.

There will be at least three organized walks Wednesday — Hy-Vee will hold its walk at 11 a.m., starting at the front door and following the outer perimeter of the store. Lutheran Services in Iowa and Ashford University are also hosting walks that day at noon.

 Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds have called on fellow Iowans to join in the one-kilometer Healthiest State Walk on Wednesday as one part of an effort to become the healthiest state in the nation.

More than 291,000 Iowans participated in the Healthiest State Initiative’s “Start Somewhere” walk in 2011, including those who completed last year’s walk at Hy-Vee. While many organized Healthiest State walks will be held at noon Wednesday, walks are encouraged throughout the day.

Branstad and Reynolds announced last year the plan to make Iowa the healthiest state in the nation within five years as measured by the Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index. In 2011, Iowa ranked 16th compared to all other states, moving up from the 19th position in 2010.

Along with the large numbers of “Start Somewhere” walkers, 84 Iowa communities indicated an interest in becoming Blue Zones Project demonstration sites and the first four were announced in May. Six additional demonstration sites will be selected and a new program designed for small communities also has been created.

So do you want to participate but find you are unable to make it to an organized walk?

Don’t fret.

Organizers say you can participate in the event by taking your own walk.

Or you can play with your kids or do another activity to promote health and well-being.

We at the Herald will be putting on our pink T-shirts for breast cancer awareness month and making the Hy-Vee walk.

Won’t you join us?

Charlene R. Bielema has been employed with the Clinton Herald since June 1995. She has been the Herald’s editor since 2002.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook