The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 6, 2012

READER'S LETTER: President not good for coal industry

CLINTON — Obama’s hostility toward the coal industry started before he became president.

While campaigning in 2008, Obama promised his cap-and-trade energy policy would make electricity prices “necessarily skyrocket” and he added, “So if somebody wants to build a coal plant, they can — it’s just that it will bankrupt them.” 

Thankfully, cap-and-trade was defeated by Congress.

But following the bill’s defeat, Obama declared, “cap-and-trade was just one way of skinning the cat; it was not the only way.  It was a means, not an end.  And I’m going to be looking for other means to address this problem.”

As a result of the destructive regulatory agenda that Obama implemented through the EPA, many existing coal-fired generation plants have been forced to shut down, and plans for expansions and new construction have been canceled—even with the new “clean” coal technologies.

When PJM Interconnection (the company that operates the electric grid for 13 states) held its 2015 capacity auction this spring, the market clearing price for new 2015 capacity was $135 per megawatt — 8 times higher than the price for 2012. For the northern Ohio territory served by FirstEnergy, the price is a shocking $357 per megawatt.

These are not computer models or projections or estimates. These are the actual prices that electric distributors have agreed to pay for new capacity. Of course, these increased costs will be passed on to consumers at the retail level and in our personal utility bills. Can you afford to pay for this penalty?

Just look at California — the most bankrupt state in our country. What did industry do when the state implemented such tight energy regulations that they couldn’t afford to compete?

Not only will we be paying extremely high utility bills to keep our lights on, our jobs will vanish as industries move overseas — including to China — the biggest importer of our coal.

Unlike the Left would like you to believe, this election is not about women’s right or government-run programs — it’s about our economy.  If there are no jobs and sky-high consumer prices, we will see the economic collapse of our country.  All citizens, but especially those of us with coal-powered energy, need to express our concern when we vote in November.

Susan Seil,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook