The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 1, 2013

Book clubs are forming at to share reading experience

The Clinton Public Library is throwing a big party for the kids who completed the Summer Reading program.

Bring your family and friends today from 5-7 p.m. for games, live animals, free food, a performance by the Clinton Showboat performers, and a bounce house in the parking lot outside the Main Branch.

Activities will be open to the public but only those children who have completed the summer reading program will be eligible to receive food during the event. Food will be served from 5:30-6:30 p.m. Winners of the Summer Reading Grand Prize drawings will also be announced at the party. Winners do not have to be present to receive their prizes. All activities are free, so join us in celebrating the end of summer reading.

Through 9 p.m. today, parking for library patrons will be available in the Discovery Center lot or in the city lot across from the YWCA. The library parking lot west of the building will be closed to make a safe outdoor environment for our Children’s Summer Reading After Party. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Groundbreaking Reads Adult Summer Reading: The prize winner for July 26 for the adult summer reading program is Christine Holmer. The prizes this week are two free subs from Jimmy Johns and a free pizza from Domino’s. She also wins two “rent one get one free” Family Video movie rentals certificates and two certificates for a “buy one get one free” sightseeing cruise on the Celebration Belle. Two grand prize winners will be announced in next week’s column!

Visit the library for more fun

Story Times: The theme for story times this week is Let’s Cool Down! Enjoy stories and crafts about water and snow. Preschool story time, for ages 3-6, will take place on Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 10 a.m. Toddler Time, for children aged 1-3, will be Thursday, Aug. 8, at 10 a.m. If you have questions, please contact children’s librarian, Tamie Bird, at 242-8441.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook