The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

July 21, 2012

BIELEMA: Get ready for RAGBRAI

CLINTON — It happens tomorrow.

The start of the 40th annual Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa.

For many Clinton residents, that fact inspires excitement as they get ready to make the annual easterly ride from the western part of the state to the Mississippi River.

There are many from this area who take the trip every year, which lasts seven days and this year begins in Sioux Center.

What makes this year's RAGBRAI even more special for local riders is that they will dip their tires in the Mississippi River at Clinton to mark the end of the event on July 28.

The announcement that Clinton was selected as the end town was made in January, and since then volunteers have been working hard to coordinate the event as it moves into the city.

From making sure the route is safe and collecting, painting and distributing bicycles for setting up welcome displays, to booking entertainment and making sure volunteers are ready to answer questions that riders will have as they gather near the Ninth Avenue North boat ramp, dozens of volunteers have been getting ready for the final day of the ride.

So what's all the hub-bub about?

First of all, this doesn't happen very often. This is only the fifth time in the history of the ride that it has ended in Clinton. And what a sight to see, with thousands of riders expected to pedal into Clinton to ultimately complete the ride on the northern end of Riverview Drive.

It also is a way for visitors who have never been here to see what Clinton has to offer — that could lead to investment and economic development by people who like what they see.

Next it is a community event, which has a way of bringing everyone together to enjoy each other's company and get out and meet neighbors.

It will be an exciting — and at times, chaotic — day, but RAGBRAI is important to Iowa and this year to Clinton especially.

So come on down to the route next Saturday to see what it is all about.

Then sit back and enjoy the ride.

Charlene R. Bielema has been employed with the Clinton Herald since June 1995. She has been the Herald’s editor since 2002.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook