The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 17, 2014

Shut down medical alert calls

I wrote in my last column, the single most common complaint I received in 2013 involved this free medical alert system recorded call (robo-call). The recorded call told the listener someone ordered a free medical alert system for them. If you wanted to accept this and followed the recorded instruction, you got transferred to a live telemarketer.

The telemarketer represented the device as endorsed by organizations such as the American Heart Association, American Diabetes Association and the National Institute of Aging. The telemarketers wanted a credit card number to pay the monthly monitoring fee, and falsely promised not to charge the card until the consumer activated the device. Instead, they immediately charged the card.

The Federal Trade Commission started investigating complaints on this very topic in July 2013. Their investigation, which used, among other things, complaints made to the Do Not Call Registry, identified the culprits as an Orlando, Fla.-based company, Worldwide Info Services, doing business as The Credit Voice.

On Jan. 7, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Florida Attorney General obtained a temporary court order from a federal judge in Florida, barring Worldwide Info Services and 12 other defendants from operating this business, freezing the assets of the business and appointed a temporary receiver over the business. The authorities are seeking a permanent order against this business. The FTC reported this company made $13 million pitching this scam.

I expect we will hear more of this investigation. If you want to read more details of the FTC complaint, you can access it online at www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2014/01/ftc-florida-attorney-general-sue-halt-operation-used-robocalls. If you subscribed to any of these medical alert devices, please contact me and we will discuss it.

This investigation highlights a feature of the Do Not Call Registry which seems under-used by consumers. Many folks know they list their phone numbers with the registry, preventing most telemarketing calls. In fact, Iowa ranks 12th in the nation in percentage of residents registered, with 78 percent of residents taking advantage of the registry.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook