The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 22, 2014

Stay in touch in 2014

With the Legislature back in session, I want to make sure you know what’s happening. There are many ways to follow the action.

I’ll be sending out regular updates on the key issues we’re addressing from week-to-week in the Senate. I’ll also participate in local forums, where we’ll have a chance to talk face-to-face.

There are several online resources to help you stay informed as well.

I invite you to check out my Senate web page at www.senate.iowa.gov/senator/hart, and encourage you to share this site with others who might be interested in signing up for my newsletter, connecting with me on Facebook or checking out my Senate photos.

At our caucus website, www.senate.iowa.gov/democrats, you’ll find:

• Articles on legislation, current events, grant opportunities and state resources.

• Summaries of bills voted on in Senate committees and in the chamber.

• Social media links to connect with Senate Democrats via Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and photos, or our RSS feed.

At www.legis.iowa.gov you can watch live debate in the Senate and House, track bills of interest, review what’s happening in legislative committees, and even arrange a free tour of the Statehouse.

Most important, I want you to know that I am here to listen and represent the people in my district. When you share your concerns and ideas, you’re helping me do my job. I especially look forward to input related to committees I serve on.

This session, I am vice-chair of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee. I also serve on the Agriculture, Economic Growth, Education, Local Government and Veterans Affairs committees.

Please feel free to e-mail me at rita.hart@legis.iowa.gov. I can also be reached through the Senate switchboard at (515) 281-3371.

Iowa Sen. Rita Hart represents Clinton County and northern Scott County.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Grandstands feel a little empty at NASCAR races

    Two decades after NASCAR started running at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the crowds have thinned considerably. It's probably no reflection on the sport's massive following, which stretches from coast to coast, but it surely doesn't NASCAR's image help when the cameras pan across all of those empty seats.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Levine mug LEVINE: Hope is back at Roosevelt building

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Holly Youngquist Friends of the Library book sale is underway

    Friends of the Library Book Sale is open now. The sale is open to all until 8 p.m. today and on Friday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Finally, Saturday, Aug. 2, is box day. From 9 a.m. to  3 p.m., books will sell at $3 per box.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Cremation service helped pet owner in her time of need

    I wanted to share some positive news about a business located in Clinton that I’m guessing most residents aren’t aware even exists. It’s Northridge Pet Cremation on Main Avenue and for me they were recently a godsend.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A Cappella choir concert was a success

    The CHS A Cappella reunion was great. It was real great to hear so many good voices of so many former choir members.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Time to boost social security

    It's time for Congress to act so that Social Security benefits can finally start to keep pace with the cost of living.

    July 31, 2014

  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook