The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 24, 2014

We're too sensitive

When did society become so sensitive?

Possibly the advent of the Internet has drawn more attention to our inability to accept other people’s culture and point of views, but after Richard Sherman’s attempt at cutting a promo for the WWE on Sunday after his team went to the Super Bowl, it became clear that our nation, or at least Facebook, Twitter and any other medium available, doesn’t like football players yelling into the camera.

If you haven’t seen Sherman’s interview, then you likely don’t own a television or have Internet access, but if you did see it, you likely have formulated an opinion.

And was it that bad? It sounded more like an interview with a professional wrestler than a football player, and since I loved wrestling when I was a kid, I thought Sherman’s interview provided great entertainment.

What’s better? Sitting through another pre-rehearsed coaches interview about how great their team played together or seeing real emotion play out on live television. I know which one I’m taking.

But the majority of the nation is siding with the “Our team executed well and we were fortunate enough to win because the other team is well-coached and disciplined, blah, blah, blah,” coach-speak.

I don’t cover sports anymore, but I spent plenty of years in my early life hearing the same words spoken by coaches, and that hasn’t stopped. And I don’t blame them.

Because if they were honest, they would likely be fired, or be called a thug, or have to call a press conference explaining why they said little Johnny could have played better after committing 20 turnovers.

The truth sometimes hurts, or at least that’s what I’ve always been told. Far too often, though, we don’t get the truth, because the source of information is too scared to be chastised by someone for saying something that isn’t considered politically correct.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook