The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 24, 2014

We're too sensitive

When did society become so sensitive?

Possibly the advent of the Internet has drawn more attention to our inability to accept other people’s culture and point of views, but after Richard Sherman’s attempt at cutting a promo for the WWE on Sunday after his team went to the Super Bowl, it became clear that our nation, or at least Facebook, Twitter and any other medium available, doesn’t like football players yelling into the camera.

If you haven’t seen Sherman’s interview, then you likely don’t own a television or have Internet access, but if you did see it, you likely have formulated an opinion.

And was it that bad? It sounded more like an interview with a professional wrestler than a football player, and since I loved wrestling when I was a kid, I thought Sherman’s interview provided great entertainment.

What’s better? Sitting through another pre-rehearsed coaches interview about how great their team played together or seeing real emotion play out on live television. I know which one I’m taking.

But the majority of the nation is siding with the “Our team executed well and we were fortunate enough to win because the other team is well-coached and disciplined, blah, blah, blah,” coach-speak.

I don’t cover sports anymore, but I spent plenty of years in my early life hearing the same words spoken by coaches, and that hasn’t stopped. And I don’t blame them.

Because if they were honest, they would likely be fired, or be called a thug, or have to call a press conference explaining why they said little Johnny could have played better after committing 20 turnovers.

The truth sometimes hurts, or at least that’s what I’ve always been told. Far too often, though, we don’t get the truth, because the source of information is too scared to be chastised by someone for saying something that isn’t considered politically correct.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook