The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 25, 2014

Former City Council members speak out

We, the four 2010-2013 council members who were elected in November of 2009, feel that much of the progress in the city’s financial situation, structure and procedures, infrastructure and facilities, the community’s business and residential growth, and improvements in health and wellness have been overlooked and overshadowed by the continuous emphasis on the unfortunate events of the EMS lawsuits, the difficulty in implementation of the new solid waste system, and the need for sewer and solid waste rate increases.

We therefore have pulled together some of the successful and positive projects and events resulting from the work and decisions of the entire 2010-2013 years by Mayor(s), Council and dedicated city staff.

FINANCIAL

• Discovery of accounting inadequacies and actual lack of funds assumed available was made by the then new City Administrator, in October 2009. He began to make systems and personnel changes and corrections immediately. The situation was desperate enough that at one point money had to be borrowed from a local bank to meet payroll — but just that one time.

This administrator and the Council acted swiftly to reduce some costs immediately in 2010, and through budgeting the next three years to improve the financial situation.

• Moody’s September 2013 report shows an A2 rating with comments regarding improvement in financial status due to sale of the municipal dock and a manageable debt burden, affected somewhat by condition of solid waste funds and underfunded cost-sharing pension plan.

• The practice of allowing unlimited comp time accrual by employees was eliminated, requiring comp time to be used within a certain time or accrual of only a limited amount as in private businesses, thus eliminating large amounts accumulated over years to be paid upon resignation or retirement.

• New sewer and solid waste rates were established through the first (in known history) use by the city of professional studies to assure adequate services and accurate costs to citizens for those services. Prior inadequate billing and collection practices were replaced by new systems.

1
2 3 4 5 6 7
Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook