The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

January 28, 2014

Easton Valley board member details issues on vote set for February 4

On Tuesday, Feb. 4, from noon to 8 p.m. at Miles City Hall, residents of Easton Valley will be deciding on two ballot issues. It was suggested by Jackson County auditor’s office and agreed upon by the Easton Valley Board to have a central polling place (Miles) to cut down on election costs and to reduce uncertainty in voter location. The two ballot issues are:

• Revenue Purpose Statement giving the district the authority to spend the 1 percent sales tax from the state. This is not a new tax. It is a requirement of the merger.

• The proposed voted PPEL levy of 1.34 (per thousand of taxable value) on property in the Easton Valley.

What is PPEL (Physical Plant and Equipment Levy) tax?

Under state law, revenue generated by the levy can be used for facility maintenance, improvement, construction, property purchase or rental, technology, energy conservation measures, transportation equipment and playground equipment. Currently, Easton Valley is using its PPEL funds for bus leases, upgraded computer technology (looking ahead to one-on-one initiative), and building repairs. Because PPEL funds pay for infrastructure items, general fund money can be spent solely for the education of the students.

Future plans for PPEL:

Through the merger vote, the people have empowered this board to make decisions that ensure that the district thrives and grows. That means our facilities should meet state requirements and serve the needs of all students. The PPEL vote will give us the resources to achieve this while still maintaining monies in the general fund used solely for the education of our students. Regardless of how you vote, yes or no, your Easton Valley school tax rate will remain much lower than neighboring school districts. As a school district, the education of your students will always be our main concern. If you have any questions please attend the public meeting on Thursday, Jan. 30, at 6 p.m., at the gym, Miles campus.

Your vote (yes or no) will give us direction in planning ahead. Be assured that the board will look at all aspects of the district tax rate and offset the PPEL funding in other areas if we are able.

Different tax scenarios will be discussed at the meeting. Bring your tax statements if you have questions. We will be more than happy to address your concerns.

Dick Keeney,

Easton Valley School Board member

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook