The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 22, 2012

READER'S LETTER: Don’t blame Obama for not turning economy around

CLINTON — I am writing regarding Ms. Seil’s and Ms. Peters’ letters to the editor about President Obama’s job performance the last four years.

They forgot to put in some vital information that we all have to go back a few pages in our history books to find.

Two president’s ago, with Bill Clinton, a Democrat, we had a surplus in this country. That means we had money in the bank.

Then the next president, George W. Bush, a Republican, put our country into debt, which means no money in the bank. He gave tax breaks to the wealthy.

Also he put us into war after the 9/11 attacks in 2001 at the Twin Towers at New York, without the United Nations consent. Many soliders were either killed or wounded.

Then comes President Obama, elected and sworn into office with the weight of the world on his shoulders.

I would like to say some things in his defense. I am tired of seeing how people put the blame on President Obama for not turning the economy around. He said it would take two terms to turn things around.

If you want to blame someone, blame the former president, not Obama, because he inherited this mess. So, don’t put the blame on him.

In my opinion we need to cut back on the use of computers and put people back to work because computers have taken over the jobs that people should have, like the U.S. Postal Service.

When Obama was elected into office he promised to stop the war and bring most of the men and women serving in the war home, and he did it.

When I found out from history books is that since World War II, four Republican presidents put us in war and only one Democratic president has done that.

I wish people would check out all of the facts before writing letters to the editor.

Jean Medinger,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Posturing, predictions fly as SEC turns to a new season

    Little news is truly made at the Southeastern Conference's media days, where players and coaches predict, insinuate and deflect in advance of this fall's college football season.
     

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Our unwillingness to defend ourselves The U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Statistics reports that 2012 losses because of personal identity theft totaled $24.7 billion. The money losses from identity theft pale in comparison with the costs of paperwork, time and inconvenience

    July 17, 2014

  • Alan Dixon 'Al the Pal' will be missed What did former U.S. Sen. Alan J. Dixon, who died Sunday at the age of 86, do for you?For starters, open your purse or wallet and take a good look at your driver’s license.Before Dixon was Illinois secretary of state from 1977 to 1981, licenses consi

    July 17, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook