The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 22, 2012

READER'S LETTER: Don’t blame Obama for not turning economy around

CLINTON — I am writing regarding Ms. Seil’s and Ms. Peters’ letters to the editor about President Obama’s job performance the last four years.

They forgot to put in some vital information that we all have to go back a few pages in our history books to find.

Two president’s ago, with Bill Clinton, a Democrat, we had a surplus in this country. That means we had money in the bank.

Then the next president, George W. Bush, a Republican, put our country into debt, which means no money in the bank. He gave tax breaks to the wealthy.

Also he put us into war after the 9/11 attacks in 2001 at the Twin Towers at New York, without the United Nations consent. Many soliders were either killed or wounded.

Then comes President Obama, elected and sworn into office with the weight of the world on his shoulders.

I would like to say some things in his defense. I am tired of seeing how people put the blame on President Obama for not turning the economy around. He said it would take two terms to turn things around.

If you want to blame someone, blame the former president, not Obama, because he inherited this mess. So, don’t put the blame on him.

In my opinion we need to cut back on the use of computers and put people back to work because computers have taken over the jobs that people should have, like the U.S. Postal Service.

When Obama was elected into office he promised to stop the war and bring most of the men and women serving in the war home, and he did it.

When I found out from history books is that since World War II, four Republican presidents put us in war and only one Democratic president has done that.

I wish people would check out all of the facts before writing letters to the editor.

Jean Medinger,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook