The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 30, 2012

Clinton resident writes to show his support for Naeve

CLINTON — I’ve gotten to know Andrew Naeve over the last few years.  He was introduced to me through a mutual friend.

I’ve been really impressed with Andrew and his ideas for making Iowa a better place to live.  He brings valuable experience to the table that his opponent doesn’t have:

• He has youthful energy with fresh ideas

• Small business owner

• Supports the best ideas, not party ideas

I don’t know anyone that works harder than Andrew.  He gets a full day’s work in by the time other people are taking a late lunch.  He then proceeds to spend the remainder of the day out in the community knocking on doors, getting to know the people of this district.  Andrew has knocked on thousands of doors, many more than once because he has a passion for the people of this great state and wants to understand their questions and concerns.

Andrew has more experience then many candidates twice his age.  He has been involved in the community as a coach and school board member as well as part of the Farm Bureau and Chamber of Commerce.  I also like that Andrew has been exposed to ideas from the best education available in this country.  He can bring a fresh perspective to the State Senate instead of the same old tried and failed plans of the past.

As a business owner Andrew has to watch every penny to make sure that there isn’t any waste in his business and he has the same goals as the Budget Watchdog heading to the Senate.

Andrew isn’t committed to the party line.  Andrew is committed to the best ideas for Iowans and the future of this state.  

We need people with Andrew’s experience, intelligence, youth and work ethic running our state.

Patrick Lonergan,

Clinton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook