The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

February 16, 2013

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Wound Care Center director thanks patients

CLINTON — The Mercy Wound Care Center is preparing to celebrate its one year anniversary, and we have a lot to report and to celebrate.  

Our multi-disciplinary team has performed over 700 hyperbaric treatments and over 1,900 wound visits.  Patients undergoing hyperbaric treatments have experienced a healing rate of 88 percent during this time.  

We have providers representing many different specialties including: family practice, surgery, podiatry, and vascular surgery.  

Our nursing staff combines more than 31 years of wound care experience.  

 We want to take this opportunity to thank all of our referring providers for trusting us with their patients and for their support as we continue to grow and expand our services.  

We also want to thank our patients for trusting us to provide their care and for their willingness to actively participate in the treatments that we offer.

 For those of you familiar with wound care, it can be very frustrating and also rewarding.  Wounds take time to heal, and require patience along with quality care.

The staff at the Wound Care Center get to know the patients extremely well and become like family with them.

With the increasing number of diabetic patients in this country and throughout the world, the need for wound care is becoming even greater.  

It has been wonderful to have this center here in our city, along with the newer technology that it brings.  

While diabetic wounds are the most common that we treat, we have seen patients with many other types as well.

A week has not gone by without someone asking me how the Wound Center was doing.  Whether it is from another provider, a patient, or even when I'm out in the community, the Center seems to be a topic of conversation.  

I'm glad to give this report and welcome any comments or suggestions for its improvement.  

Along with the staff of the Center, the providers, and myself, we thank you for your interest and for the support that you have shown during this past year.  

We look forward to continually serving this community for years to come.

 

W. Ashton Nickles,

Medical director, Mercy Wound Care Center


 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook