The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

February 16, 2013

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Wound Care Center director thanks patients

CLINTON — The Mercy Wound Care Center is preparing to celebrate its one year anniversary, and we have a lot to report and to celebrate.  

Our multi-disciplinary team has performed over 700 hyperbaric treatments and over 1,900 wound visits.  Patients undergoing hyperbaric treatments have experienced a healing rate of 88 percent during this time.  

We have providers representing many different specialties including: family practice, surgery, podiatry, and vascular surgery.  

Our nursing staff combines more than 31 years of wound care experience.  

 We want to take this opportunity to thank all of our referring providers for trusting us with their patients and for their support as we continue to grow and expand our services.  

We also want to thank our patients for trusting us to provide their care and for their willingness to actively participate in the treatments that we offer.

 For those of you familiar with wound care, it can be very frustrating and also rewarding.  Wounds take time to heal, and require patience along with quality care.

The staff at the Wound Care Center get to know the patients extremely well and become like family with them.

With the increasing number of diabetic patients in this country and throughout the world, the need for wound care is becoming even greater.  

It has been wonderful to have this center here in our city, along with the newer technology that it brings.  

While diabetic wounds are the most common that we treat, we have seen patients with many other types as well.

A week has not gone by without someone asking me how the Wound Center was doing.  Whether it is from another provider, a patient, or even when I'm out in the community, the Center seems to be a topic of conversation.  

I'm glad to give this report and welcome any comments or suggestions for its improvement.  

Along with the staff of the Center, the providers, and myself, we thank you for your interest and for the support that you have shown during this past year.  

We look forward to continually serving this community for years to come.

 

W. Ashton Nickles,

Medical director, Mercy Wound Care Center


 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Scott Levine mug LEVINE: Hope is back at Roosevelt building

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Holly Youngquist Friends of the Library book sale is underway

    Friends of the Library Book Sale is open now. The sale is open to all until 8 p.m. today and on Friday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Finally, Saturday, Aug. 2, is box day. From 9 a.m. to  3 p.m., books will sell at $3 per box.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Cremation service helped pet owner in her time of need

    I wanted to share some positive news about a business located in Clinton that I’m guessing most residents aren’t aware even exists. It’s Northridge Pet Cremation on Main Avenue and for me they were recently a godsend.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A Cappella choir concert was a success

    The CHS A Cappella reunion was great. It was real great to hear so many good voices of so many former choir members.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Time to boost social security

    It's time for Congress to act so that Social Security benefits can finally start to keep pace with the cost of living.

    July 31, 2014

  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook