The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 21, 2013

EDITORIALS: Back to school costs; Rodeo clown over-reaction

Helping families handle back-to-school costs

Press-Republican / Plattsburgh, N.Y.

Store aisles are already crowded with parents and children shopping for back-to-school needs. We trust that teachers have been judicious about their requests in empathy with family finances.

When the kids are barely past the halfway mark of their summer vacations, the notebooks, pens, writing paper and the like start appearing on store shelves.

It used to be, many years ago, that all these items were doled out to students on the first day of school. Many Baby Boomers can recall the smell of composition books, the nervous excitement of lifting the classroom desktops to store their pencil holders.

But as schools struggled to reduce costs, more and more of the supplies needed for students have to be provided by their families. Lists are sent home specifying how many binders, notebooks and pens are needed. Shopping also often includes book covers, Kleenex, markers, erasers, calculators, rulers and more. It can get pricey, especially for those with multiple children in school.

And that is not even factoring in the fact that most families do at least a little back-to-school clothes shopping. The marketing for that begins in mid summer, as well.

We applaud the schools that have begun to recycle supplies in June as classes wrap up. A number of schools provide bins where students can drop off items they haven’t used. Every school should make this a spring ritual, as it not only provides supplies to those who can’t afford them but also keeps perfectly usable items from winding up in the landfill.

Another worthy effort in our area is the supply drives held by community organizations and some stores. They set up drop-off sites where people can donate new backpacks and school supplies. With all the sales taking place this time of year, it’s easy to stock up at bargain prices, so even modest generosity can go a long way. We encourage more schools and agencies to establish supply drop-off sites.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook