The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 27, 2013

Gov. got his report, but Iowans need more

It seemed like a good idea at the time when Gov. Terry Branstad asked former Chief Justice Louis Lavorato to conduct an independent review of questions surrounding the firing of an Iowa Department of Public Safety special agent. After seeing the results, it turns out to have been a waste of everybody’s time, including Lavorato’s.

The firing of former Special Agent Larry Hedlund last month naturally raised suspicions. That’s because he was the agent who first spotted the state vehicle carrying Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds traveling at a “hard 90,” and he later filed a complaint about how the incident was handled.

So the governor asked the former chief justice to review the record and publicly clear the air.

Lavorato’s report released last week fell far short of accomplishing that.

In the lawyerly fashion expected from a former judge, Lavorato’s report lays out the legal standards necessary to prove retaliation in court. After reviewing a 500-page internal affairs report by the public safety department on Hedlund, emails and other state documents, Lavorato said he found no “direct evidence of retaliation related to (Hedlund’s) actions regarding the speeding incident.”

He did not rule out the possibility that circumstantial evidence of retaliation might exist, however, and he emphasized that his report “in no way passes judgment” on whether Hedlund’s termination was justified. That, he said, is for the courts to decide when Hedlund’s wrongful termination case is heard.

In fact, Lavorato’s five-page report contains only one firm conclusion: “I am convinced no one in the governor’s office directed or interfered with the Internal Affairs’ investigation or took part in the decision to terminate Mr. Hedlund’s employment.”

Actually, few seriously thought the governor would be so foolish. That’s doesn’t mean Hedlund was not pushed out the door by superiors who thought they would be doing the governor a favor.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook