The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

August 30, 2013

LEVINE: Be ready for upcoming elections

(Continued)

The second measure will ask voters to increase their taxes by allowing the city to add a capital projects tax levy, resulting in another 0.675 mills added to their taxes from July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2039.

Obviously, those measures don’t harken back to George H. W. Bush’s 1988 promise of “no new taxes.” We all know how that worked out.

Once again, the city has a conundrum of how to afford mandated sewer work. And it will once again be on the back of the taxpayer, which is already weighed down by the highest sewer rates in the state, high property taxes, high assessments on homes, escalating water and solid waste bills...I could go on, but I think you get my point.

If the first measure fails, the road reconstruction project that has done well and improved local streets, will likely cease to exist, pushing $1.5 million over to sewer work.

In a previous column I wrote months ago, I said that although the road work has been a success for the City Council, I could live without it as long as my rates don’t go up anymore. Streets are important, but becoming competitive on being an affordable place to live is more important. The more people we can attract, the more people we will have to pay taxes, thus funding more work to our sewers and streets (sounds much easier than it actually is).

Lastly, the second measure, which would be another tax hike, doesn’t appear likely to happen in my opinion, so I hope there’s a backup at City Hall if that doesn’t go through.

And that may be the most important factor of these measures — the city needs a backup. And if they’re willing to ask us (the citizens) to raise our taxes, forcing us to trim back on our expenses, there should be a detailed plan on how the city will curb expenses.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook