The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 11, 2013

Iowa should move forward with law against elder abuse

It’s frustrating that Iowa, a state with a rapidly growing senior and elderly population, doesn’t already have a law focused on elder abuse — that is, a comprehensive law that specifically addresses the unique needs of all older adults who are victims of abuse, neglect and exploitation.

Iowa does have a more general dependent abuse law dealing with cases of physical or sexual abuse, financial exploitation and denial of care. But for the Iowa Department of Human Services to intervene in cases of suspected abuse under that law, there must be:

• A dependent adult: Someone whose mental or physical condition makes him unable to perform or obtain services necessary to meet his essential human needs and depends on the assistance of another person.

• A caretaker: That other person, related or non-related, who has the responsibility for the protection, care and custody of the dependent adult.

• A specific allegation of physical abuse, sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, financial exploitation, denial of critical care by the caretaker or self-denial of critical care by the dependent adult.

Thus, the current system, unfortunately, does not address the needs of older victims of abuse or exploitation who are not considered “dependent” and who do not have a specific “caretaker.” Nor does the current law address the needs of seniors and elderly persons who are the victims of constant verbal or psychological abuse or abandonment.

Unfortunately, groups and organizations — such as the Elder Abuse Intervention Coalition and the Heritage Agency on Aging — are finding that without a more comprehensive law in place, a growing number of very troubling cases of elder abuse are falling through the societal cracks. And various studies of elder abuse over the past decade suggest that for every one case of elder abuse actually reported, there are somewhere between five and 14 case cases that go unreported.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook